Mia

Mia is a 6 year old spayed female cat. In 2015 she was found alone in a field in San Jose when she was just a few days old but her strong spirit kept her alive and she quickly adjusted to life with her rescuers. My wife and I adopted her just after our honeymoon and immediately fell in love with her fun, curious, and energetic kitten personality. In the years since she has certainly mellowed out and naps much more. She loves to cuddle and be near her people, especially at night warm in the blankets on our bed.

When our son was born in 2018 it rocked her world. She and our other cat got used to the new normal but she always seems to be on edge and that she's stressed. As our son got more mobile, vocal, and energetic it's become harder for Mimi (as our son calls her) to feel at home with us. My wife and I have done everything we can to try and help her find peace and joy in our home; extra cat trees, tunnels for hiding & play, extra litter boxes, and more space (moved from an apartment to a house). But since our life just continues to become more chaotic with a 3 year old, mom & dad working remotely, and another baby planned, we don't feel that our beloved Mia will get the happy life that matches her adult personality.

She's had a great start to her life and we're committed to finding her a wonderful home that's a perfect match for her future.

FYI - Torby is a mix of Tortoise and Tabby.

Cat: Primary Breed: Domestic Short Hair
Primary Breed (if not in list): Torby
Adoption Day, when did you adopt your pet? An estimate is okay.: September 2015
Birthday, estimate is okay: July 2015
Where did you get your pet?: Petco adoption event
What do you feed your pet?: Hill's Prescription Diet c/d Multicare Urinary Care
What are your pet's favorite toys and activities?: Scratching post, feather chase, anything she can practice hunting with.
Age Category: Adult
Gender: Female
Size (at full grown): Small
Approximate Weight (at full grown, in pounds): 12
Primary Color: Brown
Medical Care:
Up-to-date all vaccines
Up-to-date, rabies only
Microchipped
Spayed or Neutered
Special Diet
Special Needs
Never Vetted
Unknown
Purr-sonality:
Friendly to Family
Friendly to Strangers
Timid/Shy
Enjoys being picked up
Affectionate
Vocal
Declawed
Bonded Pair
Good with Dogs
Good with Other Cats
Good with Young Children
Purebred
How is your cat with other cats?:
Timid at first
Playful
Rambunctious
Tolerates
Scared
Not good with other cats
Why are you rehoming your pet (primary reason)?: Incompatible with other pets
Rehoming reason details (if necessary): Mia is a wonderfully loving cat. When my wife and I were first married she and her brother were our first babies. When we had our first child the stress was immediately apparent. While she's become used to our son she hides most of the day, appears skittish, and now struggles to get along with her brother. It breaks out hearts to try and find her a new home but we know she could be so much happier with the right pet parents.
What would you like your pet's new family to know?: Mia loves to cuddle, play, and doesn't meow very much. She will be very engaging with new people but ultimately goes back to her private hiding spots to relax. She's been an indoor cat her entire life but is very curious about being outside. She would be best suited in a home without young children or other pets. She eats a prescription diet since she had a minor urinary infection back in 2017. No issues since then. She is fully healthy.
How far are you willing to travel to meet a new family?: Up to 40 Miles
How long will you be able to keep your pet before you may need to surrender him or her to a rescue?: As long as it takes
Who is your veterinarian?: Dr. Melanie Verreault
Would you consider a long distance adoption?:
Yes
No
Would you consider a foster family?:
Yes
No
Zip Code: 92883

Public discussion (0)

You must log in to send a new comment.