Safi

Safi is a sweet, loving 1-year-old dog who had a rough start in life. She was taken in by the Humane Society as a puppy, and had clearly been abused and dumped. She spent several months there, and did get some obedience training before we took her in. She was extremely shy and timid when we first got her, and was especially frightened of men. We have worked on socializing her, and she has become much more confident. She’s very loving and wants to be a (45-lb) lap dog if you let her, and gets along very well with our other dog and visitor dogs. She has tons of energy and loves to chew and dig, and really loves her daily run in the woods (off-leash, but she'll stay nearby and come when called). If she is properly exercised (she needs many miles per day), she's pretty calm and wants nothing more than to snuggle. She is potty-trained.
Because of her unfortunate early life experiences, she is still timid toward new people, particularly men, and unsure in some circumstances (a person not part of her "family" who is carrying a big box or looks intimidating, for example). I am certain this is correctable with time and effort, but she would need a trainer or an experienced dog owner who knew what they were doing. She seems to learn relatively quickly and is highly food-motivated.

Dog: Primary Breed: Staffordshire Bull Terrier
Primary Breed (if not in list): Not sure but she looks like either a Staffordshire terrier or American bull terrier
Adoption Day, when did you adopt your pet? An estimate is okay.: December 2019
Birthday, estimate is okay: Jan 2019
Age Category: Adult
Gender: Female
Size (at full grown): Medium
Approximate Weight (at full grown, in pounds): 45
Primary Color: Black (Mostly)
Medical Care:
Up-to-date all vaccines
Up-to-date, rabies only
Microchipped
Spayed or Neutered
Special Diet
Special Needs
Never Vetted
Unknown
Personality:
Playful
Constant Companion
High Energy
Medium Energy
Low Energy
Stubborn
Timid
Needs Training
Friendly to Strangers
Good with Other Dogs
Good with Young Children
Good with Cats
Bonded Pair
Requires A Fenced Yard
Purebred
Why are you rehoming your pet (primary reason)?: Personal problems
Rehoming reason details (if necessary): Daughter got her for companion but is too sick to care for her given her high-energy needs
What would you like your pet's new family to know?: She will make a great pet for someone who is active (especially if the family has other dogs), but definitely still needs some work and training
How far are you willing to travel to meet a new family?: Love Knows No Distance
How long will you be able to keep your pet before you may need to surrender him or her to a rescue?: As long as it takes
Would you consider a long distance adoption?:
Yes
No
Would you consider a foster family?:
Yes
No
Zip Code: 16365

Public discussion (0)

You must log in to send a new comment.