This almost 10 year old chihuahua has been my companion since I graduated high school. He loves to play, he loves snacks and chewing bones. More than anything he loves to cuddle. He would make a great pup in a home with someone who does not have a lot of commotion going on. He can acclimate to a cat, can warm up to other dogs for playtime, but wants to be the only dog in the house. He is anxious and does bark at the doorbell or knocking (as most of his breed does). He is perfectly healthy and is caught up on all of his vaccinations. He would be an amazing companion for anyone. I am heartbroken that the dog I’ve loved for close to 10 years even needs to be rehomed, so I’m looking for someone who will love him as much as I do. He does hate to be alone for long periods of time, and he hates the cold/rain/snow, but he absolutely loves being outside when it’s warm and the sun is out.

Pet's Name: Thor
Dog: Primary Breed: Chihuahua
Birthday, estimate is okay: 09/30
Age Category: Adult
Where did you get your pet?: A family member
Adoption Day, when did you adopt your pet? An estimate is okay.: 08/2015
Gender: Male
Size (at full grown): Small
Weight (at full grown): 9
Primary Color: Tan (Mostly)
What are your pet's favorite toys and activities?: Ropes, balls, socks, scrunchies, loves to hike and be outside in the sun.
Has your dog received any formal obedience training?: No
What commands does your dog know?: Sit and “up” (jump)
Has your dog ever displayed any behavioral issues, such as biting another person or pet? If so, can you please provide details on what happened?: Protective of primary owner, nipped one person upon quick approach. He is protective over food with other animals so I’ve never fed him around other animals to prevent any issues.
How does your dog react to being left alone for short periods?: He will whine when first left but will settle eventually.
Are there any specific triggers that cause your dog anxiety or stress?: Separation, large/high energy dogs, car rides, being crated.
Is there a particular routine that works best for your dog in terms of feeding, walking, and sleep?: Waking and walking early, meals twice a day, intermittent naps, needs to go out before sleep.
Medical History and Care:
Vaccinations up to date
Spayed or Neutered
Special Diet
Special Needs
Never Vetted
Does your pet have any history of health issues or medical conditions that potential adopters should be aware of?: No.
Constant Companion
High Energy
Medium Energy
Low Energy
Needs Training
Friendly to Strangers
Good with Other Dogs
Good with Young Children
Good with Cats
Bonded Pair
Requires A Fenced Yard
Crate Trained
What's the most endearing thing about your dog?: He will curl up and cuddle all day if you let him.
What criteria are important to you when considering an adoptive family or home for your pet?: Stability, patience, compassion, a home with only one or no other pets. A home with no commotion.
Why are you rehoming your pet (primary reason)?: Personal Problems
How long will you be able to keep your pet before you may need to consider surrendering him or her to a rescue?: Not an option, my pet will stay with me for as long as it takes
Who is your veterinarian?: Dr. Dougas
What do you feed your pet?: Hill’s Science Diet for GI problems- for small dogs
Do you have pet insurance for your pet? : No
Would you consider a long distance adoption?:
City, State: Norwich, CT
Zip Code: 06360
Service Level: Not Sure