Ken

Seeking Forever Home: Adorable, Handsome, Very Well Behaved

Ken is super adorable, incredibly gentle and affectionate, and follows you around with a curious and playful intent.

Ken is 1.5 years old. He was born in February 2023 in Tijuana, Mexico, just over the border from San Diego, CA. He was born at a large animal sanctuary and was one of six in his litter. I adopted Ken at four months directly from the animal sanctuary. I welcomed Ken into my home in July 2023.

Ken in a nutshell:
* House trained - will move towards door or move around door when he has to go, once he knows where the door(s) are.
* He has a strong bladder - meaning I will take him out at 8:00PM and he will be good until 8:00AM the next day.
* He will go into a crate, but does not like it.
* Loves riding in the car - will often lay down when on long road trips or on the highway.
* Is great with other dogs - currently goes to day care with 40+ dogs per day; dogs are all breeds, ranging from small to extra large.
* Is great with kids and other humans; warms up slowly and will look to owner for reassurance.
* His interaction with cats is unknown, but likely playful.
* He is a snuggler and will curl up in a ball next to you or on you if you let him. He is currently not allowed on any furniture.
* He loves to go for walks and is good on a leash.
* He is good off-leash (at a dog park) or in setting where he can see you / you can see him - at all times.
* He loves to be active and thoroughly enjoys the dog park and will return to owner on recall.
* He does not bark or bite
* He typically does not chew things; there have a been a few exceptions, mainly when he was left alone without distraction. I purchased a few baby gates to put around shoes and he does not bother them now. I think the chewing more of an anxious response. He always gets a ‘Greenie’ whenever he is left alone.

Adjectives to describe Ken: lover, cuddles, active, cute, quiet, submissive, gentle, obedient, playful, companion, curious

Pet's Name: Ken
Dog: Primary Breed: Other, not listed
Primary Breed (if not in list): Mutt - mix
Birthdate, estimate is okay: February 2023
Age Category: Young
Where did you get your pet?: Animal sanctuary
Adoption Day, when did you adopt your pet? An estimate is okay.: July 2023
Gender: Male
Size (at full grown): Medium
Weight (at full grown): 50
Primary Color: Tan (Mostly)
What are your pet's favorite toys and activities?: Dog park, playing with other dogs, walks
Has your dog received any formal obedience training?: No
What commands does your dog know?: Wait and sit
Has your dog ever displayed any behavioral issues, such as biting another person or pet? If so, can you please provide details on what happened?: No
How does your dog react to being left alone for short periods?: He is fine; needs to have a treat or Greenie (dental chew) to distract while human departs
Are there any specific triggers that cause your dog anxiety or stress?: Being left alone for a long time (>3-4 hrs) without being properly exercised first
Is there a particular routine that works best for your dog in terms of feeding, walking, and sleep?: Urination between 7-8a; breakfast 8-9a; dog park or robust exercise mid-day; dinner at 5p, walk before bed; urination-3-5X per day / defection-2-3X per day
Medical History and Care:
Vaccinations up to date
Spayed or Neutered
House/Litter-Trained
Microchipped
Special Diet
Special Needs
Never Vetted
Unknown
Does your pet have any history of health issues or medical conditions that potential adopters should be aware of?: No
Personality:
Playful
Constant Companion
High Energy
Medium Energy
Low Energy
Stubborn
Timid
Needs Training
Friendly to Strangers
Good with Other Dogs
Good with Young Children
Good with Cats
Bonded Pair
Requires A Fenced Yard
Crate Trained
Purebred
How is your dog with other dogs?: Very friendly: Loves meeting and playing with other dogs.
How is your dog with cats?: Neutral: Doesn't mind cats but doesn't interact much with them.
What's the most endearing thing about your dog?: He will follow you around all the time and gently lick to let you know he is there
What criteria are important to you when considering an adoptive family or home for your pet?: Needs to be exercised and socialized; if living in apartment, needs to go to dog park / daycare frequently
Is there anything else you'd like your pet's new family to know?: He is super cuddly and will want to be with you all the time
Why are you rehoming your pet (primary reason)?: Other, Not in List
Rehoming reason details (if necessary): Personal medical issues
If applicable, do you have the legal right or necessary permission from the breeder or rescue organization to rehome this pet? :
Not Applicable
Yes
How long will you be able to keep your pet before you may need to consider surrendering him or her to a rescue?: Two months
Who is your veterinarian?: VCA Main Street
What do you feed your pet?: Ken currently enjoys 1.5 scoops, twice per day, of Hill's Prescription Diet Gastrointestinal Biome Dry Dog Food.
Do you have pet insurance for your pet? : No
Would you consider a long distance adoption?:
Yes
No
Maybe
City, State: San Diego, CA
Zip Code: 92103
How did you hear about us?: Google Search
Service Level: Standard Service - $195: Profile creation, promotion, screening, adoption guidance